Make your own free website on





“Brother Dee”



Track List

01. Harder They  Come

02. Girl I've Got A Date

03. Guantanamera

04. Bubblin' Over

05. Sleep Walk

06. Ain't That Lovin' You

07. Reggae Music

08. Hava Nagila

09. A Song

10. Oh Carolina

11. Sweet And Dandy

12. River Bank Coverly

13. Mento Reggae

14. Waddada Carifesta

15. Nengeh Nengeh

16. Meu pais

17. Trench Town Rock

18. Sattamassagana

19.  One Love

20. Maria Elena

21. Someone Loves You  Honey

22. Some Day

DWIGHT PINKNEY and his music have always had a universal appeal, which has been stimulating the emotions of music lovers worldwide for many years.

Pinkney's musical career spans over three decades. He has played on some four Grammy Award winning Reggae albums and recorded with many top Jamaican artists including Bob Marley, Dennis Brown, John Holt, Bunny Wailer, Sly & Robbie, Gregory Issacs, Beres Hammond, Glen Washington, Louise Bennett, Freddie McGregor, Roots Radics, Alton Ellis, Israel Vibration, Delroy Wilson, Denroy Morgan, Luciano, Bob Andy, Itals, Marcia Griffiths, I-Threes, Wailing Souls, Don Carlos, Skatalites, Pam Hall, and JC Lodge, to name a few.

Pinkney, born a Piscean in Manchester, Jamaica, moved to Kingston at an early age where he grew up under the watchful eyes of his mother. He always had an innate love for music and, as a teenager, taught himself to play the guitar. At age 18 he formed “The Sharks,” who enjoyed instant success when, soon after its formation, they landed a resident-band job in the Bahamas, at the Lucayan Beach Hotel. Pinkney and “The Sharks” also took time out to do recordings at the world famous Studio One in Kingston, backing many Reggae greats including the legendary Bob Marley and the Wailers, Ken Boothe, BB Seaton and the Gaylads, . Each of these artists scored at least one, #1, record on the local charts and Pinkney was a part of their success. The formation of the internationally acclaimed band, “Zap-Pow” was another successful move in the life of Dwight Pinkney. Pinkney also led the popular “Roots Radics” band of the 80’s and 90’s. He fine-tuned his craft when he attended the Jamaica School of Music where he studied with gifted tutors such as Melba Liston, Peter Ashbourne and Marjorie Whylie.and Camille Lewis

Pinkney's music has taken him to many renowned venues all over the world that included New York's Madison Square Gardens , BBC’s 'Top Of The Pops', Las Vegas, Japan, Australia, South Africa, Hawaii, Canada, South America, Central America, and Europe. He has appeared in three full-length movies: “Smile Orange;” “Land of Look Behind;” and “Holyland;” which was filmed on location in Israel.

Dwight Pinkney's debut instrumental album, Jamaican Memories by the Score, won two prestigious awards -- Jamaica Federation of Musicians Union (JFMU) Award and Reggae-Soca Music Award in Florida US. The album was also voted best Reggae Instrumental Release, by UK Tower Records 'TOP' magazine. Pinkney's CD "Jamaican Memories..." is also a feature in Air Jamaica’s In-flight music program. The result of this success has Pinkney doing numerous appearances on radio, television, and live shows throughout Jamaica, USA, Canada, and the United Kingdom, and he has been featured, nationwide, in the United States of America on BET’s “Jazz In the Sun.”

Pinkney’s new highly demanded follow-up CD, More Memories + is now completed. An extensive promotional campaign follows.

For more information go to:

Copyright 2002, Dwight Pinkney
All Rights Reserved





Dwight Pinkney
Jamaican Memories By The Score


01. Tune In
02. Better Must Come
03. Screwface
04. Memories By The Score
05. Evening Time
06. Left With A Broken Heart
07. Barbwire
08. Night Nurse
09. Cherry Oh Baby
10. Many Rivers
11. Promise Me (How Could I Live)
12. Dangerous Disturbances
13. Can I Change My Mind
14. Lord Deliver Us
15. Let Him Go
16. Cry Tough
17. Go back Home
18. Morning Of My Life
19. El Nino
20. Candle In The Wind

[release date : 12/1999] [catalog # : AIR-CD 1001]
[Producers: Dwight Pinkney & Keith Francis]

This CD features the guitar playing of the music veteran Dwight "Brother Dee" Pinkney. Dwight's career spans many musical years and it is evident from the selection of songs chosen for this project. They are instrumentals of some of the greats in Jamaican music from Delroy Wilson (Better Must Come),The Paragons (Memories By The Score, Left With A Broken Heart), Jimmy Cliff (Many Rivers To Cross), Alton Ellis (Lord Deliver Us, Cry Tough), Gregory Isaacs (Tune In, Night Nurse) and Dwight's trade mark song "Promise Me" aka How Could I Live .

Brother Dee surrounded himself with a very talented ensemble on this CD, which is evident in this top quality production. Some of the musicians included were David Madden (former Zap-Pow member), Dean Fraser, Sly Dunbar, and Carl Ayton.

It is nice to hear some Treasure Isle rhythms instead of the regular Studio One get featured for a change. This gives the album a fresh sound, Dwight even dared, and managed to pull off adding the folk song "Evening Time" on the CD, BRAVO!!!.

Congrats are in order for Dwight "Brother Dee" Pinkney, and thanks for sharing your Jamaican Memories By The Score

- Crucial Lloyd




  1. The Meaning Of Christmas

  2. Santa Claus

  3. The Christmas Song

  4. Chrstmas Time Again

  5. Christams JA

  6. Llama

  7. The Little Drummer Boy

  8. Christmas Coming

  9. No Place Like Home

  10. Rock It Christmas

  11. Santa Ketch Up Ina Mango Tree

  12. Ding Dong

  13. Deck The Halls

  14. Mary's Baby Boy

  1. Silver Bells

  2. De Virgin Mary

  3. Joy To The World

  4. Jingle Bells

  5. Rudolph

  6. We wish you a Merry Christmas

  7. Auld Lang Syne

  8. Go Tell It On The Mountains

  9. Happy Birthday

  10. Jolly Good One

  11. Bridal Chorus

  12. Wedding March

  13. Goodbye

  14. Jamaican National Anthem

GUITARIST DWIGHT Pinkney is still enjoying the success of his instrumental album Jamaican Memories By The Score. But he's gone another step forward by releasing a second album, For All Occasions, which has predominantly Christmas music.

"My idea was to get more Jamaican vibes into the Christ-mas celebrations. Over the years we hear the traditional songs and they are done in foreign styles. I thought we could use the same songs and add a Jamaican touch to them. In addition, we sought to add some of the best local Christmas compositions over time," he said.

Among the local songs he has adapted are Llama, Santa Clause Do You Ever Come To The Ghetto, Christmas JA, Santa Ketch Up Inna Mango Tree and Mek De Christmus Ketch You Inna Good Mood.

In addition, he penned the original Home For Christmas, which is also included. The CD contains 28 songs, 20 of which are Christmas songs.

The other songs on the CD are all traditional tunes. They include Happy Birthday, Bridal Chorus, the Wedding March, Auld Lang Syne and the Jamaican National Anthem.